Weekly Recap #44: Week of 3/11 – 3/17

 

It’s time for another weekly recap post of all things happening on and off the blog. This week I’ll be linking to the Sunday Post, which is hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer and to Stacking the Shelves, which is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

You ever have one of those weeks where everything is just a blur?  I’m sitting here trying to think of something to write and I honestly can’t remember a thing that happened all week, lol.  I blame it on the fact that I’m working six days a week from now until our mid-April deadline at work.  I think my schedule this week was pretty much just wake up, get ready for work, get my son ready for school, go to work, come home, make dinner, fall asleep in a chair while reading until bedtime, repeat…

I noticed yesterday that I had 12 episodes of The Big Bang Theory on the DVR that I hadn’t watched yet (Have I mentioned that my To Be Watched list is as bad as my TBR? LOL!), so I ended up watching about half of those last night before falling asleep in my chair.  I have an equal number of Young Sheldon episodes to watch but I can’t decide if I’m really into that show or not.  The first couple of episodes were okay but nothing to write home about.  We’ll see. They can sit on the DVR a while longer.

I did manage to squeeze in a bit of reading this week. I finally finished Gemina, which had been on my TBR forever, as well as an ARC of Every Note Played by Lisa Genova.  My review for that one posts tomorrow, and just wow, what a heart wrenching read that one is, especially if you’ve lost someone to ALS.  I’ve also got a couple of historical fiction ARCs that I need to read ASAP, including I Was Anastasia, which I started yesterday and am really enjoying so far, and The Room on Rue Amelie, which is advertised as perfect for fans of The Nightingale and The Lilac Girls, which are two of my favorite books so I’m really hoping this one lives up to that advertisement.

I think that’s it for me for now.  I hope everyone has a wonderful week!

WHAT I POSTED LAST WEEK

 

 

 

WHAT I’M READING THIS WEEK

 

     
  

UPCOMING REVIEWS

 

       
   
   

 STACKING THE SHELVES

 

     
      
 

TOTALLY RANDOM

 

Source: Pinterest

44 replies
  1. Angela
    Angela says:

    Haha, I find most weeks I can’t remember anything that happened! Just more of the same, I guess! You have a few books up there I’m looking forward to, so I can’t wait to see what you think of them!

    Reply
  2. Evelina @ AvalinahsBooks
    Evelina @ AvalinahsBooks says:

    Lol yes, every week.. Every week is like that for me! Helps to look at the calendar sometimes xD to see what I actually did.
    LOL I didn’t know Young Sheldon existed. I am also unsure whether I like that idea or not 😀
    Have a great week!

    Reply
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      Yes, Young Sheldon is one that I just can’t decide if I like or not. It’s a cute show, I guess, but part of what I love about Sheldon is how he interacts with his science friends so since they’re not in the Young Sheldon show, it feels a bit off.

      Reply
  3. bookworm
    bookworm says:

    I can relate, I had a 6 day workweek too and nearly had to work today as well but thankfully didn’t have to. I’m working on my weekly updates post now later than usual but I still wanted to get it done. It’s tradition 🙂 Enjoy your books and I like that books are calling meme lol.

    Reply
  4. Jenea’s Book Obsession
    Jenea’s Book Obsession says:

    Ha, now I don’t feel so bad about my watchlist being so big. I need more hours in a day to be able to read and watch t.v. Lol… Enjoy the new books. And try to get some rest too, those long word days are the worst.

    Reply
  5. Cricket
    Cricket says:

    Last week went by so fast, so I understand what you mean. I’ve been wanting to read the Illuminae books but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Big Bang Theory is one of my favorite shows to watch. Hope you have a great week.

    Reply
  6. Amy
    Amy says:

    Lol I totally know the feeling of trying to remember your week (or month…) and literally nothing comes to mind! That happens to me all the time, haha.

    Wow that’s a wonderful haul you’ve got! Hope you enjoy all of the bools. I’m looking forward to Twinkle because I enjoyed to When Dimple Met Rishi, and I’ve got a copy of Children of Blood and Bone I’m yet to start! But I can’t wait. I’m sure it’ll be amazing.

    Hope you have a lovely week ahead 🙂

    Reply
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      I think Twinkle is the one I’m most excited for out of my haul too. When Dimple Met Rishi was just so precious and I feel like this one will be too.

      Reply
  7. sjhigbee
    sjhigbee says:

    Yes… my workload is a tad intense just now – although I mostly enjoy what I’m doing. But I shall look out for your review on Gemina as I have it on my TBR and it is starting to CALL to me… I also like the look of Dark Matter. I hope that you still manage to get some ‘me’ time this coming week!

    Reply
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      Gemina was so good! I always think I’m not going to like the books in that series because of the way they’re formatted, but they always prove me wrong, lol.

      Reply
  8. Sam@WLABB
    Sam@WLABB says:

    Six day work weeks – that brutal. Good luck! I read Gemina on the way back from BEA in 2016, so it feels like forever since I have been in that world. I can’t wait to get back to it with Obsidio.

    Reply
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      Thanks! I’m counting down the days until our April 15th deadline, lol Gemina was so good. I can’t wait to read Obsidio and see how it all ends.

      Reply
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      I honestly didn’t realize that’s what Every Note Played was about at first either. I requested it without even reading the blurb because I enjoyed Still Alice so much.

      Reply
  9. Greg Hill
    Greg Hill says:

    I loved Dark Matter! And can’t wait to see your thoughts on the woman in the Window. I really liked it but I know reviews have been a bit mixed. I just read Obsidio and man that series is a trip! I think I liked Gemina a little more, but they’re all pretty good.

    Love that Totally random! Our books get annoyed when we don’t tend to them properly… 🙂

    Reply
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      I can’t wait to read Dark Matter. I’ve heard nothing but great things about it and have put it off way too long. Gemina was so good. I need to pick up a copy of Obsidio ASAP and see what happens next!

      Reply
  10. Lauren Becker
    Lauren Becker says:

    Oh wow, that’s a lot of work in one week. Good luck until your deadline next month. I’m glad you’re getting some good books in though. I want to re-read Illuminae and Gemina before getting the third book.

    -Lauren

    Reply
  11. Jennrenee
    Jennrenee says:

    Am I supposed to remeber my weeks?? Lol. I know the feeling. I love Big Bang. I can’t let that show stack up. I need to check out your reviews for cruel prince and shadow and bone. Ash is dying to read I was anatatsia. And yay for lifel1k3.

    Reply
  12. Amber Elise @ Du Livre
    Amber Elise @ Du Livre says:

    I feel like my entire February was a blur, so yes, I totally feel you Suzanne! I hope work isn’t too stressful, the deadline is just around the corner!

    And I hope you adore the Belles! I’m reading Children of Blood and Bone now! 🙂

    Reply
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      Yes it is and I’m counting down the days!

      I can’t wait to see what you think of Children of Blood and Bone. I don’t think I’ve read a single bad review for it yet.

      Reply
  13. Candid Cover
    Candid Cover says:

    I love that pin you shared! It is so perfect. I am amazed at how much blogging you are able to accomplish when you have been so busy. I always find that the blog is one of the first things I abandon when things get hectic. I hope that you enjoy Dark Matter. It sounds like an interesting concept. 🙂

    Reply
  14. Daniela Ark
    Daniela Ark says:

    Well that sounds like pretty much every second of my life since I have a Dory brain and no memory whatsoever 🙂
    I literally keep a “new post” tab open on my explorer all week so I can draft my sunday post as the week goes because I KNOW I will not remember anything 🙂
    good luck with your deadline at work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.