Can’t Wait Wednesday – SOME OTHER NOW by Sarah Everett

 

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, which encourages fellow bloggers to spotlight upcoming releases that we’re excited about.  It is a meme that I have  loved participating in for over a year now, but as Jill is no longer actively posting, from now on I’ll be linking to Can’t Wait Wednesday, hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings, which is a spinoff of the original WoW meme.

* * * * *

My selection for this week is SOME OTHER NOW by Sarah Everett.  This Is Us is one of my favorite TV shows so seeing this book described as This Is Us for teens called to me like a moth to a flame.  With that comparison, I’m pretty sure it’s a book that will have me reaching for the tissues.

 

SOME OTHER NOW by Sarah Everett

Publication Date:  February 23, 2021

From Goodreads:

This Is Us for teens, this luminous and heartbreaking contemporary novel follows a girl caught between two brothers as the three of them navigate family, loss, and love over the course of two summers. For fans of Far From the TreeEmergency Contact, and Nina LaCour.

Before she kissed one of the Cohen boys, seventeen-year-old Jessi Rumfield knew what it was like to have a family—even if, technically, that family didn’t belong to her. She’d spent her childhood in the house next door, challenging Rowan Cohen to tennis matches while his older brother, Luke, studied in the background and Mel watched over the three like the mother Jessi always wished she had.

But then everything changed. It’s been almost a year since Jessi last visited the Cohen house. Rowan is gone. Mel is in remission and Luke hates Jessi for the role she played in breaking his family apart. Now Jessi spends her days at a dead-end summer job avoiding her real mother, who suddenly wants to play a role in Jessi’s life after being absent for so long. But when Luke comes home from college, it’s hard to ignore the past. And when he asks Jessi to pretend to be his girlfriend for the final months of Mel’s life, Jessi finds herself drawn back into the world of the Cohens. Everything’s changed, but Jessi can’t help wanting to be a Cohen, even if it means playing pretend for one final summer.

 

 

* * * * *

 

I’d love to hear what upcoming book releases you’re waiting on this Wednesday? Leave me your link in the comments below and I’ll stop by and check out your CWW selection for this week. 🙂

30 replies
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      Yes, I’m thinking I’ll need to keep a box of tissues nearby for this one, especially if that That Is Us comparison is accurate. That show kills me every episode.

      Reply
  1. trin carl
    trin carl says:

    Love that, ‘Can’t wait Wednesday’. I love wednesdays because i have a day off in the middle of the week and I usuallly plan some fun improv. I also saw you’re reading Prisoner’s wife and I may read that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.