Waiting on Wednesday – Spotlight on Fireblood by Elly Blake

New WoW“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, which encourages fellow bloggers to spotlight upcoming releases that we’re excited about.

My “Waiting On” Wednesday selection for this week is Fireblood by Elly Blake. Even though I had some issues with the first book in this series, Frostblood, I still have high expectations for Fireblood. I like that it sounds like Ruby will be further exploring that dark side we saw towards the end of the first book when she first encounters the Minax. I think that exploration of her own darker nature and all that entails will add that extra something to make Fireblood a real standout in YA Fantasy reads this year.

Fireblood 

by Elly Blake

Publication Date:  September 12, 2017

From Amazon:

In this action-packed sequel to Frostblood, the future of Ruby’s world and a court ruled by the love of her life depends on the uncovered secrets of her past..

Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost King and melted his throne of ice. But the bloodthirsty Minax that was trapped inside is now haunting her kingdom and everyone she loves. The answers to its demise may lie to the south in Sudesia, the land of the Firebloods, and a country that holds the secrets to Ruby’s powers and past….

Despite warnings from her beloved Arcus, Ruby accompanies a roguish Fireblood named Kai to Sudesia, where she must master her control of fire in a series of trials to gain the trust of the suspicious Fireblood queen. Only then can she hope to access the knowledge that could defeat the rampaging Minax–which grows closer every moment. But as sparks fly in her moments alone with Kai, how can Ruby decide whom to trust? The fate of both kingdoms is now in her hands.

Praise for Frostblood, the first book in the series:

“Ruby’s a spitfire who faces her challenges with grit….”―Kirkus

“This strong debut for Blake succeeds in laying down intriguing framework for the books to come.”―Publishers Weekly

“This series opener is perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen and will delight those who love fantasy, adventure, and romance. A strong addition to any YA fantasy collection.”―School Library Journal

“With Arcus and Ruby happy at the end and a kingdom possibly restored, readers will have a contented if not surprised sigh.”―Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“This enchanting and fast-paced debut lights up the page with magic, romance, and action, all of which is expertly interwoven throughout the text. Readers will be eagerly anticipating the next book in the series.”―Booklist

“With a fierce and vibrant world, richly-drawn characters, a steamy romance, and page-turning twists, Frostblood has all the elements of a great fantasy.”

Morgan Rhodes, New York Times bestselling author of the Fallen Kingdoms Series

“Compelling characters, a fascinating world, and an exhilarating story beautifully wrought in this must-read debut.”―Eve Silver, author of the Game series

“Fast-paced and brimming with magic and intrigue, Frostblood will keep you frozen in place until the last page and then leave you burning for more.”―Lori M. Lee, author of Gates of Thread and Stone

* * * * *

I’d love to hear what upcoming book releases you’re waiting on this Wednesday? Leave me your link in the comments below and I’ll stop by and check out your WoW selection for this week. 🙂

10 replies
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      Yes, that cover is so amazing! Definitely willing to give the second book a shot even though I had a few issues with the first. Fingers crossed that I enjoy the second book!

      Reply
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      Yes, I’m really excited that we don’t have to wait so long for the next book. I had a few issues with Frostblood but it sounds like the direction the second book is going to take will be right up my alley. Here’s hoping we both love it!

      Reply
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      Yes, the concept is pretty intriguing. I was drawn to the series because of the whole fire vs. ice idea. It made me think of the classic Robert Frost poem so I had to check it out. I had a few issues with the first book in the series but am very hopeful about the direction the author will take the story in next.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply