Waiting on Wednesday: Spotlight on ‘The Girl Before’ by J.P. Delaney

New WoW“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, which encourages fellow bloggers to spotlight upcoming releases that we’re excited about.

My “Waiting On” Wednesday selection for this week is The Girl Before by J. P. Delaney.  I enjoy a good psychological thriller and this book just sounds like it’s going to be filled twists and turns that keep me guessing from start to finish.  I keep saying that I’m tired of books that are in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, but I think The Girl Before sounds like it has potential to revive my interest. We’ll see… 🙂

The Girl Before

by J. P. Delaney

girl before

Publication Date: January 24, 2017

From Goodreads:

In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Silent Wife, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

Emma:  Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.

Jane:  After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home’s previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.

Check out this Advance Praise for The Girl Before!

“Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning—a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense.“ —Lee Child

“Riveting! One of the most compelling page-turners I’ve read in years. Twisty, turny, and with an ending not to be missed!“ —Lisa Gardner

“I was instantly gripped and held captivated by the pace and elegant writing. I devoured it.” —Peter James

The Girl Before is a cat-and-mouse game that toys with our expectations and twists our sympathies. At times almost unbearably suspenseful, it keeps us guessing from the first page to the very last. Don’t miss it.” —Joseph Finder

* * * * *

I’d love to hear what upcoming book releases you’re waiting on this Wednesday? Leave me your link in the comments below and I’ll stop by and check out your WoW selection for this week. 🙂

14 replies
  1. Jordan
    Jordan says:

    Ooh, I just saw this one in an email advert from Shelf Awareness this morning, so this makes me more excited for it! I’m definitely interested in finding out more about this one and picking it up when it comes out. Great pick! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Greg
    Greg says:

    Aren’t all the thrillers like Gone Girl or Girl on the Train now lol? Judging from the marketing. Still this does sound good. Although no personal effects? Why would anyone take such a place? Still I’m curious and it does look twisty and fun. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Asiya
    Asiya says:

    Totally off topic but I was lucky to read it and I absolutely loved it! I see some people posting negative reviews and generally wonder if we all read the same book!

    Reply
    • Suzanne
      Suzanne says:

      I recently got approved for this one as well and plan to read it sometime in the next week or so. Hopefully I’ll enjoy it as much as you did. I thought the synopsis sounded so interesting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge